The State of Florida is known around the country for its tough stance on crime, and the case is no different with Petit Theft. Petit Theft or Petty Theft is used to describe taking or using property valued at under $300 without permission of the rightful owner. In today’s fast paced environment where you barely have time to give things a second thought, it can become easy to forget or carried away when buying items or using someone else’s property. However, that does not excuse the intentional removal of items that belong to someone else. If you or someone you know has been arrested for Petit Theft and is awaiting trial, it is time to get in touch with a Miami petit attorney who specializes in theft and larceny related cases.
Statues on Petit Theft in Florida:
The State of Florida defines theft as taking or using someone else’s property or belongings while having a criminal intent. Theft includes knowingly obtaining or using, or attempting to obtain or use the property of another person with intent to permanently or temporarily deprive them of that property. It also includes using another person’s property in order to get benefits from it without permission, and appropriate the property to yourself without being entitled to do so.
Florida statutes also require specific criminal intent to be proven by the person accused of committing an act of Petit Theft.
Petit Theft is further classified in the following categories in the State of Florida:
- First Degree Petit Theft:
First degree Petit Theft involves property valued between $100 and $300. It is classified as a misdemeanor of the first degree.
- Second Degree Petit Theft:
If the property stolen is valued at under $100, the incident is classified as a Petit Theft in the second degree.
Consequences of Petit Theft in Florida:
Petty theft is a misdemeanor in the state of Florida and may result in a jail sentence and fine. The consequences of Petit Theft in Florida include:
- A minimum of 1 year in jail and a fine of not more than $1000 if convicted of Petit Theft in the first degree
- Up to 60 days in jail and a fine of up to $500 if convicted of Petit Theft in the second degree
- A suspension of the person’s driving license for six months to one year
Besides the legal consequences, Petit Theft is seen as a “Crime of Dishonesty” and may have a negative impact on job applications, employment opportunities, chances for further advancement, and even enrolling at a school or college.
Why You Should Hire a Petit Theft Attorney:
A Miami criminal lawyer who specializes in matters of theft and larceny will be familiar with complicated courtroom procedures and evidence protocols. He or she will also be familiar with the statutes related to Petit Theft and may have the charges reduced. Hiring an experienced Miami criminal defense lawyer could tilt the balance in your case towards a more favorable outcome. Contact the law office of Pagan & Stroleny, P.L. now for your free consultation. Our attorneys are former Miami Dade prosecutors with the experience you want on your side in the courtroom. Call our office now for a free consultation, (305) 615-1285.