We all know cocaine possession is illegal in the State of Florida but penalties for possession quickly reach minimum mandatory sentences of many years and sometimes decades.  As a criminal defense attorney I frequently handle cocaine possession cases ranging from under one gram to several kilos.  Under Florida Statute § 893.135 anyone who “knowingly sells, purchases, manufactures, delivers, or brings into the state, or who is knowingly in actual or constructive possession of cocaine” may face criminal charges if caught.  Below is a table featuring the common cocaine possession charges along with the applicable minimum mandatory sentences.

Grams Minimum Mandatory Sentence Fine
28 – 200 grams 3 years $50,000 fine
200 – 400 grams 7 years $100,000 fine
400 grams – 150 kilograms 15 years $250,000 fine


Cocaine possession cases are serious matters that should be handled by attorneys with experience in drug defense.  There are many available defenses to cocaine possession cases but only a criminal defense attorney should advise a client of what may be their best option.  If you or someone you know has been arrested for cocaine possession feel free to call our office for a free consultation, (305) 615-1285.